Indonesian mayors agree on commitments for climate change action

The leaders of 11 cities and the province of West Java, Indonesia, agreed on significant commitments for climate change mitigation and adaptation at a Mayors’ Forum hosted by Bogor City Mayor Bima Arya on 15 June 2015.

The 11 cities, namely, were Banda Aceh, Balikpapan, Bogor, Bontang, Kupang, Makassar, Manado, Padang, Pekalongan, Tangerang, and Tangerang Selatan. Outside of Balikpapan and Bogor, which have already announced their intent to comply, the nine cities and West Java also expressed interest in joining the Compact of Mayors.

At the Mayors’ Forum, each of the local governments agreed to:

  • Develop a ‘city climate commitment’ of greenhouse gas emissions reduction in compliance with international standards, especially in the transportation and building sectors;
  • Integrate climate change adaptation and disaster risk reduction into the city’s five-year Regional Medium Term Development Plan, using a Strategic Environmental Assessment as has been implemented by the city of Bogor;
  • Ensure that the urban system remains well-functioning at the onset of disasters and climate change impacts; and
  • Voluntarily report mitigation and adaptation actions to the carbonn Climate Registry.

Bogor and Balikpapan are ICLEI Members and Model Cities under the Urban Low Emission Development Strategies (Urban LEDS) project, co-implemented by ICLEI and UN HABITAT and supported by the European Union.

Back to: Home | News Center
This article appears in LOGOS No. 5 (July 2015), quarterly newsletter of ICLEI SEAS.
View e-newsletter | Download PDF